Rotorua | New Zealand

University of Waikato

Latest scholarships

The regulations and the application form can be found through the link below. It is important that all potential applicants read through, and understand, the regulations of the scholarship prior to commencing the application process.

The attached document outlines the scholarships values and criteria. Please take note that the Sir Edmund Hillary is now requiring students to submit a 3 minute video in their application.

The University of Waikato now has a new scholarship for High Performance Athletes. The University of Waikato Professional Athletes Dual-Career Scholarship is for NZ citizens and permanent residents who will be contracted as a paid professional/semi-professional sports person to a NZ-based sports franchise/organisation for the full season/competition in 2020 and who will be enrolling in an undergraduate degree at UoW. Applications close on 31st August.

Please note that this scholarship can not be held in conjunction with the Sir Edmund Hillary Scholarship Programme.
More information, including the regulations can be found through the following link;


University of Victoria

Find Scholarship

Otago University

University of Otago Entrance Scholarships are now open. As you may be aware, the process for applying for University of Otago Entrance Scholarships for 2020 has changed. 
Why has this changed?

You may remember that in the past, applicants were instructed to tick boxes for each entrance scholarship they wished to apply for. This sometimes resulted in students not realising that they were able to apply for more than one scholarship, or that they may have been better suited for a different scholarship than the one they applied for.
This meant that some exceptional candidates missed out on being awarded certain scholarships.

What has changed?

This year, students will no longer select the specific scholarship they wish to apply for by ticking a box. Instead they will answer a series of questions that will filter down to the best scholarship fit for the maximum amount of money, based on both the information that they provide online and that has been compiled during the application assessment process.
Students will be asked if they wish to be considered for scholarships with specific attributes that form the key selection criteria and further questions and/or examples/statements on subjects such as:

·         leadership experience and potential (both in and out of the school environment)

·         extracurricular activities

·         sport or cultural activities

·         taha Māori or indigenous Pacific Island community involvement

·         financial and family circumstances etc.

What hasn’t changed?

The scholarships on offer this year are the same as those offered last year.
All applications are completed via eVision and students are required to go through the first few steps of enrolment at the University of Otago before the ‘Apply Now’ button is visible. This includes selecting an undergraduate programme of study. 
We are aware that there are students who are not sure which subject they wish to study. As long as it’s a valid undergraduate programme (i.e. not a Diploma/Certificate/Honours programme), they can select any programme to get the application underway and change this at a later date.

What do students need to prepare for their application?

The ‘Scholarship application preparation’ web page will be the ‘go-to’ for information for students.
Screenshots of the application process will be added to the ‘Apply for an entrance scholarship’ webpage for further information on completing their application. As always, we recommend that students read the information available on the ‘Frequently Asked Questions’ page as well.

Please feel free to contact or your Schools’ Liaison Officer if you have any questions or concerns.

Further information and applications:  

Residential College Applications open 1 August for full academic year accommodation.

Auckland University 
Last year not many applicants applied, so apply,

The following Auckland University scholarships are open for applications:

▪️University of Auckland Top Achiever Scholarship
▪️University of Auckland Māori Academic Excellence Scholarship
▪️University of Auckland Pacific Academic Excellence Scholarship
▪️University of Auckland Academic Potential Scholarship

To apply, visit:

Canterbury University

Lincoln University

Massey University