Rotorua | New Zealand

The Mission Of Lasallian Schools

The Mission of the LaSallian School is to form a Community where teachers and students can live their faith and become the persons that God wants them to be. The latest edition of One Lasalle, the newsletter of the NZ Lasallian Family, is available to read here.

The School Community

We believe that the love of Christ binds us together as children of God, peoples of all races and conditions, rich or poor, bright or otherwise, for all are made in God’s Image and are members of His family. On this faith rests the mutual love and respect that is fostered between teacher and student in our schools.

We believe as lay colleagues to the De La Salle Brothers we give testimony to the Providence and Presence of God as we educate the young in the tradition of Saint John Baptist De La Salle, giving attention to all and especially to pupils whose development is hindered by economics, personal and other problems.

Mass is celebrated every Wednesday in term time at 8.15am in the McKillop Chapel.

Learning And Living The Faith

We believe that the learning of religious truth is fundamental to education in our schools.

We believe that religious development is not isolated from development of the mind and conscience, nor from development of the body. Logic and analysis, honesty and team-work in games, all provide a sound foundation for understanding religion and living by one’s beliefs.

We believe that we are called to teach what is true, just, good and beautiful, guided by our Catholic philosophy which finds harmony not contradiction in spirit and matter, in faith and reason.

Life-long Growth

We believe that, like parents, teachers labour to form the minds and characters of students and become transformed in the process, as teacher and student help each other grow as persons.

We believe that students must learn how to learn as they need to teach themselves after leaving school.

Success

We believe that success in School means more than good examination results. It means learning how to live as well as how to make a living.

2017 Important Feast Days

1st Mar Ash Wednesday 23rd Jun Feast of the Sacred Heart of Jesus
17th Mar St Patrick 24th Jun St John the Baptist
19th Mar St Joseph 9th Jul McKenna
7th Apr St John Baptist de la Salle 6th Aug The Transfiguration of the Lord
9th Apr Palm Sunday 8th Aug St Mary of the Cross
13th Apr Holy Thursday 15th Aug Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary
14th Apr Good Friday 29th Aug Blessed Edmund Rice
15th Apr Holy Saturday 5th Sep Death of Blessed Mother Teresa
16th Apr Easter Sunday 8th Sep The Birthday of the Blessed Virgin Mary
16th Apr St Bernadette 27th Sep St Vincent de Paul
28th Apr St Peter Channel 29th Sep Sts Michael, Gabriel & Raphael
25th May The Ascension 1st Nov All Saints Day
5th May Kanea 2nd Nov All Souls Day
4th Jun Pentecost Sunday 27th Nov 1st Sunday of Advent
15th Jun Corpus Christi 8th Dec Feast of the Immaculate Conception

Website for the Catholic Pastoral Area of Rotorua

 

Catholic Character – Mission

Our Mission Is Fulfilled When Our Students:

  • Come to the knowledge of God and faith in him,
  • Know clearly what they believe and why they believe,
  • Understand and accept themselves and others,
  • Develop their talents in service to society, to nation and to the world,
  • Think logically and critically and express themselves effectively,
  • Maintain physical fitness and mental health, avoiding excesses and abuses,
  • Possess social awareness and a sense of responsibility for the common good.

Pastoral Care

The framework of guidance care at John Paul College ensures that the College provides a safe emotional and effective environment for all students under the leadership of Mrs Ali McHugh (Deputy Principal Pastoral Care).

The first point of contact for all students is the classroom teacher or the student’s form teacher. Form teachers work closely with the Deans at each year level, the Guidance Counsellors, Campus Minister, School Nurse and Deputy Principal.

Pastoral Team

Deputy Principal Pastoral Mrs Ali McHugh ali.mchugh@jpc.school.nz ext 8841
Campus Minister Mrs Bernadette Fredricksen bernadette.fredricksen@jpc.school.nz ext 8867
Guidance Counsellor Mrs Nancy MacMillan nancy.macmillan@jpc.school.nz ext 8854
Guidance Counsellor Mr Neil Carter neil.carter@jpc.school.nz ext 8808
Careers Counsellor Mrs Sheryl Hewitson sheryl.hewitson@jpc.school.nz ext 8823
School Nurse Mrs Cathy Flavell cathy.flavell@jpc.school.nz ext 8806
SENCO Mrs Marie Hepi marie.hepi@jpc.school.nz ext 8807
SENCO Mrs Paulene Walsh paulene.walsh@jpc.school.nz ext 8850
Year 13 Dean Mr Tim Bell tim.bell@jpc.school.nz ext 8858
Year 12 Dean Mrs Sherry Brewer sherry.brewer@jpc.school.nz ext 8852
Year 11 Dean Mrs Minka Webb minka.webb@jpc.school.nz ext 8848
Year 10 Dean Mr Terry Hughes terry.hughes@jpc.school.nz ext 8861
Year 9 Dean Mr Owen Kowalewski owen.kowalewski@jpc.school.nz ext 8847
Year 8 Dean Mr Paul Johnson paul.johnson@jpc.school.nz ext 8803
Year 7 Dean Mrs. Marie Hepi marie.hepi@jpc.school.nz ext 8849

 

Whanau

John Paul College recognises New Zealand’s cultural diversity & the unique position of Maori.

  1. J.P.C. has a Whanau Group which meets monthly.
  2. Our Whare, ‘Hoani Paora,’ is a centre promoting excellence in Te Reo and Tikanga Maori.
  3. Faculty Heads and Deans specifically target Maori students to ensure academic and pastoral excellence.
  4. Maori parents are consulted on the aims and aspirations they have for their children through the Whanau Group.
  5. J.P.C. is not a total immersion school in Te Reo. Parents who request it will be referred to the local schools that do.